Information for Stakeholders on planned Academic Staff Strike Action - 25 May 2022

The EIS/FELA recently balloted their members in respect of the failure to reach a finalised agreement on the National 2021/222 salaries settlement. The result of the ballot has been announced and the majority of members have voted to take strike action.

Our employer’s body, College Employers Scotland, are continuing to work with the EIS/FELA with a view to resolve the dispute as soon as possible.

Following on from the ballot, the EIS have given notice of discontinuous strike action on Wednesday 25 May 2022.

On Campus classes will continue to be offered as currently timetabled on Wednesday 25 May and teaching staff may run their classes as normal or make other supervised individual arrangements with their students on these dates. 

Students will be advised that classes may be cancelled either in advance, or on the day, and that they can undertake independent study where staff are engaging in strike action. 

Student facilities (such as libraries and learning hubs will be open as normal).

I would ask you to ensure all managers and others within your organisation involved in liaison with the College and responsible for learners or apprentices coming into College on 25 May 2022 are made aware of the above arrangements.

The College will remain open for staff on all strike days.

Online classes will also continue to be offered as normal, with students undertaking independent study where staff are engaging in strike action.

Future Dates for Industrial Action

EIS/FELA have advised the College of further planned strike days as follows:

  • Monday 30th May, Wednesday 1st June
  • Tuesday 7th June, Thursday 9th June
  • Monday 13th June, Wednesday 15th June, Friday 17th June
  • Tuesday 21st June, Thursday 23rd June, Friday 24th June
  • Monday 27th June, Tuesday 28th June, Wednesday 29th June

Background

The relationships between the management and teaching staff in Dundee and Angus College is very strong and mutually supportive. The dispute has arisen as a result of a failure of national negotiations to reach a satisfactory conclusion.

The College regrets the current action and will do all that it can to seek to ensure that the impact on students and services is as minimal as it can be.

If you have any questions or require any further information do not hesitate to make contact.