Awards galore

Release Date: 16 June 2017

A total of 150 proud parents, family and friends gathered in the Webster Theatre at D&A College on Wednesday, June 7, to applaud more than 70 prize-winning students.

prizegivng round up
Sports students Ryan Anderson, Beth Cunningham, Aiden Fechlie, Amy Ironside and Kevin Docherty arrive at the prize-giving event

In a glittering ceremony – with 66 prizes up for grabs – Principal Grant Ritchie, along with sponsors from industry and commerce, presented the awards to the students.

Radio presenter and broadcaster Gary Robinson was MC at the event

All the prize-winners:

Skillzone prize for Personal Progression: James McAusland.

Best Introduction to Business, Administration & Accounting Student: Tracy Ligertwood. Best Certificate in Business Administration Student: Josie Falconer. Best HNC Administration & IT Student: Norma Stewart.  Best HND Administration & IT Student: Rebecca Myler.

Oranges and Lemons HNC Childcare & Education Award: Bobbie Paton.

George Brown Shield for Introduction to Construction - Painting & Decorating: Robbie Philips. Award for Best Introduction to Construction Student – Bricklaying: Ryan Scott. Award for Best 1st Year Bricklaying Student: Jamie Stephen. The Mason Trade Prize for SVQ Level 3 Bricklaying:Scott Jack.  Orchard Timber Award for Best Introduction to Joinery Student: Josh Pelling. Howdens Award for Best 1st Year Joinery Student: Corey Edwards; for Best 2nd Year Joinery Student: Rory McDonald. Burton Roofing Award for Best 1st Year Roof, Slating and Tiling Student: Brandon McKinney. The Slater Trade Prize for SVQ Level 3 Roofing, Slating and Tiling: Scott Coull.

Jim Stewart Award for Best Part-time Welder: Jai Morphew. Jim Stewart Award for the Best Introduction to Engineering Student: Kris Shaw. Whittaker Engineering Award for Best Part-time Apprentice: Ross Finlayson. Greg Morrison Award for the Best Pre-Apprentice SVQ Level 2: Steve Torrie. Jamie Henderson Award for Best NC Engineering Systems Student : Matthew Sturrock. Jamie Henderson Award for Best HNC Engineering Systems Student: Bradley Cowan.

Arbroath Guildry Sponsorship: James Kean; Maurice Duncan.

VTCT Level 1 Award for Hair & Beauty: Zoe Scott.  VTCT Level 2 Award - Diploma in Women's Hairdressing: Jevgenija Polanska. VTCT Level 2 - Diploma in Barbering Award: Harriet Pitt. VTCT Level 2 - Diploma in Beauty Therapy Studies Award: Sophie Rolfe. SVQ in Hairdressing Level 3 Award: Cassie Brown. SQA Level 6 in Hairdressing Award   : Shannon Allen. SQA Level 6 in Beauty Therapy Award: Alyx Graham. Helen Morrison Award in Excellence for Hair & Beauty & Complementary Therapies: Amii Adam.

Russums Prize for Best Hospitality Student: James Gilbride. Louisa Kingham Award for Excellence in Professional Cookery: Murray Blair.

Gammies Groundcare Award for Land-based: Richard Brown. Brown's Pet Shop Prize for Animal Care: Lori Shand. George Matheson Scholarship: Aimee Brownlee.

Learner Engagement Volunteering Group Award - Vehicle Technician Valeting Group: Conner Kerr;

George Thompson; Rory  DeVaughn; Lisa Williams; Liam Kempton;  Jack Herd; Andrew Wilson;

Dale Thomson; Christian Chalmers; Conner Boardman. Learner Engagement Volunteer of the Year, Arbroath: Rachel Brown; Gardyne: Kayleigh Elvy; Kingsway: Samantha            Lamprecht.

Sports Union Team of the Year: Trampoline Squad: Ryan Anderson; Aaiden Fechlie; Amy Ironside; Joshua Gregory.

Students’ Association Champion Award: Claire Marshall. Class Rep of the Year Award: Adrian Bing Yiu Chan. Lead Rep of the Year Award: Kirsty Gilbert.

Base Camp Arbroath Award for Best Certificate in Uniformed Services Student: Ryan Heggie. Angus Alive Award for the Best Introduction to Sport & Fitness Student: Aiden Darling. Direct Soccer Award for the Best Certificate in Coaching Sports & Fitness Student: Athen Petrie Origin Fitness Award for the Best HNC Fitness, Health and Exercise Student: Mark Fairweather. Angus Active Schools Award for Best HND Sports Coaching and Development Student - Year 1: James Kiely. Dundee Academy of Sport Award for Best HND Sport Coaching and Development Student - Year 2: Lee Myles.

The Irene Callaghan MBE Edinburgh Angus Club Award: Christie Myles.

The Andrew Welsh MP, MSP, Provost of Angus Cup for Outstanding Personal Achievement: James Batchelor.

Rotary Club of Arbroath Scholarship: Eden Weissenberger.

Ede and Ravenscroft Prize for Outstanding Commitment: Darren Logan.